#SCPOP Day 9: Political Leader | Unpopular Opinion Time with Imelda Marcos

#SCPOP Day 9

#SCPOP Day 9

The standout political controversy of my young life was Imelda Marcos and her enviable collection of shoes (… and dresses… and jewellery… and fine art…) In doing research for this spread I found that I share not just a birthday, but a particular view on beauty, with her (and tbh, but for a lack of funding, I would gleefully repeat her mistakes; I live for beautiful things.)

“I ALWAYS SAY YOU CAN NEVER BE EXTRAVAGANT WITH BEAUTY. BEAUTY IS GOD MADE REAL. BEAUTY IS LIFE.”

The danger with sticking too rigidly to a personal philosophy though, is that you run the risk of sacrificing everything that doesn’t fit within that particular framework of belief, in order to maintain your version of reality. You can alienate yourself to such an extent that what was once an endearing quirk, becomes a reason for others to hate you. Credos are guidelines, not something to hide behind.

This spread is for examining a strong personal philosophy and the ways in which it fails you.

[1] Your Philosophy – “It is terribly important to do certain things, such as wear over-embroidered dresses.” “I hate ugliness. You know i’m allergic to ugliness.”

[2] The Burden of this Philosophy – “The problems with First Ladies is that you have to set the standard. My role is to be both star and slave.”

[3] How You Are Perceived Due to This Philosophy – “All they show are the quirky Imelda.” “Perception is real, truth is not.

[4] How This Perception Makes You Vulnerable – “It’s the rich you can terrorize. The poor have nothing to lose.”

[5] How This Philosophy Makes You Vulnerable – “My husband does not like me to give interviews because I say too much. No talk, no trouble.”

[6] What This Philosophy is Hiding – “They went into my closets looking for skeletons, but thank God, all they found were shoes, beautiful shoes.”

[7] The Truth Behind Your Philosophy – “I did not have three thousand pairs of shoes, I had one thousand and sixty.”

And finally –

“IF THE SHOE FITS, BUY IT.”

Words to live by.

signature3

Marks will be awarded for participation

