I’m Getting Soft in My Old Age!

At least if my most recent lustworthy decks are any indication! Though if I’m being serious, I think it speaks more to how my understanding of tarot has changed and developed over the years.

“Innocent” or “sweet” decks held no appeal for me when I was starting out. It was fairly recently that I added the first “gentle” deck to my collection and was immediately taught the error of my ways! The Hanson Roberts might be filled with bright colours and soft smiles, but it knows how to tell you exactly what’s going on.

The Whimsical Tarot (below) is another Mary Hanson-Roberts illustrated deck that never caught my attention until today, actually. Looking at older versions of the cards, I can partially see why – titles on the Majors are hideous! It looks like newer versions from U.S. Games have got that sorted out and now they match the Minors. As my tarot practice has evolved, I’ve discovered how the universal themes present in the arcana are played out in fairy tales and folkore as well; I can only imagine the fun I’d have with the Whimsical Tarot because of this!

 

The Happy Tarot is a new release from Lo Scarabeo and it was love at first sight! Anyone who knows me in meatspace would be both shocked, and not at all surprised. This deck is literally saccharine, set in a land made of sweets and candy that is the absolute definition of “whimsical”!  Cookies, marshmallows, lollipops, ice cream and all manner of sugary treats fill each card, while the local populace (by and large) have wide, beaming smiles of delight, as they skip through fields of sprinkles and gumdrops.

Oh! And the Courts form a continuous scene when laid out next to each other! I want it soooo baaaad. Based on what I’ve seen so far, I wouldn’t be surprised if this one makes Deck of the Year on Aeclectic.

 

Do you need to punch a kitten yet? Well how about now??

 

The Ceccoli Tarot didn’t escape my notice when it was released, but I didn’t give it a second thought. It might have been a different story even 5 years ago, but now I’m kinda over the “sad, wan girls in fantasy wonderlands” style of art.  But, pride comes before lust, and seeing the cracked amethyst reading with them every day has resulted in my utter enchantment! This deck is dark, yo, and I love it.

 

Dark.

 

DARK.

 

And my decklust situation was doing so well up until today *SIGH*

signature3

5 thoughts on “I’m Getting Soft in My Old Age!

  1. JJ says:

    I have never been a sad, wan girls fan. Ever. But something about the Ceccoli got me and I love it. It’s quite cheeky and a little dark in a humorous way. I had lots of fun using it.

    Do you know that song “Ballad of the Sad Young Men”? We could paraphrase “All the sad, wan girls…”

    Listen:

    Like

    • la Reine de l'Air says:

      Ha – that song is perfect for an adaptation! The more cards I see from the Ceccoli, the deeper my need grows. The 9 of Cups (I think?) with the gingerbread “bathing” in the teacup – he looks so happy, but little does he know… it’s very Blood Countess-like O.O

      Like

    • la Reine de l'Air says:

      Which one – the Whimsical? I really find – for me, at least – that the “right” deck in terms of readability depends very much on where you are at a certain time in your life. Still not ready to part with any of my babies yet though!

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

