Barbieri Tarot

Yoooooo why did no one tell me about the Barbieri Tarot (Lo Scarabeo)??

From what I can tell, this deck is destined for 2016 release and is made up of existing artwork by Paolo Barbieri i.e. not created specifically for a tarot deck. Looking at the images, I don’t know if this is a deck I, personally, would ever be able to read with, as much as I absolutely *SWOON* over many of the cards (some of my favs above – that 10W!)

The artwork, while all fitting in the fantasy universe, is inconsistent in a unified theme. There are dragons, and Tolkienesque monsters, and re-purposed great works of art (Michaelangelo’s David is the 4 of Wands!) and vampires and… Some of the cards leave me cold and confused, while others get me all hot and bothered and itching to divine! Part of the problem is that a few of the more traditionally symbolic cards feature a person, and not much else. It’s hard to get anything from that, you know?

Regardless, I think this deck will be a big hit among those who enjoy high fantasy art decks, both for reading and collecting. I definitely would love to see this deck working in tandem with the Royo Dark Tarot or the Vampires Tarot of the Eternal Night – just imagine all those creatures and warrior queens working together!

What do you think – is this one for the wishlist?

signature3

6 thoughts on “Barbieri Tarot

  1. chloetarot says:

    I used to love dark decks, but after two kids I’m more emotional and just can’t get excited about them anymore. Still, interesting to see :)

    Like

    • la Reine de l'Air says:

      I had a similar experience after my first Reiki attunement (and it only got stronger after the 2nd and 3rd) where my empathy levels shot up to the point where I can’t watch certain movies or TV shows anymore. Previously, I was able to completely disengage and had a very high tolerance for all sorts of terrible things :)

      Liked by 1 person

      • chloetarot says:

        Yes, that’s it exactly. As a kid, I didn’t get why people cried at movies, and now I blub at the slightest thing. I haven’t quite adjusted to this increased empathy yet, and sometimes yearn for that detachment. Ah well…

        Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

