Colour Your Own Tarot Score!

I braved the local bookstore chain today – only because I got a gift card for my birthday, so it was “safe” – and made a tarot score:

Color Your Tarot Boxed Set by Liz Dean; Cisco Books, 2008

Color Your Tarot Boxed Set by Liz Dean; Cisco Books, 2008

The Color Your Tarot Boxed Set by Liz Dean, for $10 ! It’s a little worse for wear (I think it might have spent some time shoved into various corners) and I haven’t checked if the cards are all present and accounted for, but for that price? AND the set comes with a colour-your-own as well as an actual printed deck, so it’s two for one! You even get 10 colour pencils.

The artwork has a certain “book of hours” charm to it and the Death and Moon cards are two of the more unique ones I’ve seen in a RWS clone. The Minors are Marseilles-style pips with no variation from card-to-card, other than the number of elements. However, this is a plus when it comes to colouring your own cards because the empty backgrounds allow you to add whatever details you want.

Death and The Moon - Liz Dean Tarot; Cisco Books, 2008

Death and The Moon – Liz Dean Tarot; Cisco Books, 2008

I think I’ll scan the cards in, both so I can play with colour options in Photoshop and so that I can print copies to experiment with using different techniques. Naturally, I want to turn one into a glitter bomb :D It is true that the card stock is flimsy, but that is a minor concern to me (nothing 10 layers of (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ *:・゚✧*:・゚✧ GLiTtER won’t cure!) Maybe I could find a few more copies? I am giddy at the sheer potential for alteration possibilities!

ETA: All of the cards are there. There is a printing error on the blank deck, with the Page and Knight of Swords both being labelled “Knight”, but again, meh. That’s what liquid paper is for.

19 thoughts on “Colour Your Own Tarot Score!

  1. Aj / Melia says:

    I’ve got a deck to tempt you with…Favole. Damn thing has pips for minors so I refuse to keep it…but it insisted on going home with me. I figure it belongs with someone I know.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      REALLY?? It’s so dark and gothy ^-^ and overly dramatic – that would be awesome! Let’s figure out if there’s anything I can send you in return. I’m going to see if I can find a Skelita (small chance, but who knows); or would you like a colour your own deck if I can find more? Jewellery?

      Like

      • Aj / Melia says:

        Skelita would be so nifty! I’m not crazy about the colour me deck. I’ve seen some tea cards that look interesting…beyond that I don’t know. I try not to look at decks so that I’m not tempted. Jewelry is always tempting Email me and we can talk about it. :)

        Like

        • submerina says:

          I’ve told The Man he needs to go scouting (he has better luck than I do) :) Do you mean the Tea Leaf Fortune Telling Cards? They are quite lovely. I’ll email you. And if I don’t, don’t be afraid to bug me!! The brain… yeesh.

          Like

  2. Debra She Who Seeks says:

    This makes me think of the original Daughters of the Moon tarot deck back in the 80s which you had to colour and then laminate. I guess that DIY approach never really caught on because when the second edition deck came out some years later, it was printed in full glorious colour. That’s the one I have, LOL!

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I can see why the DotM would have originally been a DIY deck; making it your own, experiencing your unique connection with the card meanings etc. I think the drawback is that the durability of the cardstock suffers and lamination in the 80s was… well, you know how it was! Cards, or coasters? ;)

      Like

  3. hersixthcircle says:

    Oooooh, QUESTION! What do the backs look like? I’m thinking that could be another way to make the cards sturdier, gluing some new backs onto them. (One of the chicks on my tarot collage group uses this awesome black paper with golden stars on it for all of her card backs. She’s such a show-off. But it looks great.)

    Like

    • submerina says:

      The backs have a vaguely Nouveau, circular fleur de lis design in the centre with a border round the edge; very simple line work. Sounds like show-off chick has what you need! Even adhering a layer of scrapbook paper would probably work, once you get the magic powers of glue involved in the mix. Oh dear… does this mean I have an excuse to buy that gorgeous pack of black & white scrapbooking paper I saw at Michaels?? OH DEAR.

      (What glue do you guys use? Mod Podge works, but it’s quite wet and tends to warp untreated card.)

      Like

      • Thalia says:

        For your deck the scrapbook paper + photographic prints turned out just the right weight. I used what I had, which was acrylic gloss medium, as glue. They warped a little but I muscled them around a bit and then weighted them down for a week or so to flatten them out.

        Oh look, I’m Rusty Jones today. WordPress, sigh.

        Like

        • submerina says:

          I’ve had similar good results with Mod Podge when I (half) made the Audubon playing card deck. Acrylic gloss medium might stick just a wee bit better in the long run – ?

          FWIW, I think adds a little much-needed manly influence to the place ;)

          Like

      • hersixthcircle says:

        Yeah I’m not really an expert on the glue part of the equation. In my collage class, we always just use glue sticks because at the end of the night we laminate our cards anyway. But if they weren’t going to be laminated, I’d probably be following Thalia’s advice down there. Which is what I might end up doing, since I think the laminated cards are way too think to work with comfortably.

        Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

