Yearly Herculian Trials

It takes all year, requiring perpetual vigilance for new deck releases and dutiful updating of The Amazon Wishlist.

In October the Building of the Cart begins.

Over the next 2 months The Cart is in a state of constant adjustment and tweaking, with items being added and subtracted (and added – and subtracted! – again) as they catch The Collector’s interest.

Shortly after xmas, the Gathering of the Gift Cards takes place, at which time the Maximum Outlay is determined.

And then… THE DAY OF (final) REFINEMENT DAWNS!

Once the Cart Prototype is in a state of running perfection, the real work begins – searching across e-tailers for the best prices and shipping. This takes several hours, leaving The Collector physically and emotionally exhausted (living north-of-the-border is haaaard, y’all. I’m happy to say though that this year, for the first time, Amazon.ca beat out Amazon.com. Praise be to the gods of free shipping and long may they reign!)

Then comes the – comparitively – easy part: The Waiting. And The Waiting Continues. And More Waiting.

At long last, the answer to the question, “DID MY PARCEL COME YET??!?” is “YES!”

HUZZAH! The Annual Wishlist Haul is here!

haul1

 

  • 8-Bit Tarot by Indigo Kelleigh (not pictured)
    This one arrived slightly early because it was a now-or-never deal, but I counted it towards the Haul. My first and only true RWS deck. I can’t read it for trying, but goddamn it’s adorable!
  • Zombie Tarot by Paul Kepple and Stacey Graham
    (This was a xmas day gift, so oops it’s not pictured with the others.) I picked this one up from an actual book store *gasp* figuring if I didn’t like it, it could become part of The Man’s all-things-zombie collection. The first copy had a card missing – The Chariot – so I had to return to the mall *twitch* during boxing week *shudder* to trade.
  • Steampunk Tarot by Barbara Moore and Aly Fell
    I sound like a jaded hipster DB, but steampunk has been on my radar since the late 90s. So by 2012 I am sooo over calculatedly constructed anachoronism that all I can say is /insert YAWN here/. As you can see, I caved. Oops. This deck is gorgeous and I can’t wait to read with it (I’ve heard she deals in “tough love”).
  • Dreaming Way Tarot by Rome Choi and Kwon Shina
    Pretty watercolours aren’t usually my thing, but occasionally I find myself hopelessly seduced. There is what I can only describe as a “simmering innocence” to the art. Maybe it’s because the artist is Korean, as it’s the same vibe I get from many far Asian decks. I was able to view all the cards before my favourite tarot deck wesite got shut down (BOO ON YOU, GOOGLE but I understand) and immediately thought it would be good for face-to-face readings.
  • As Above: Book of Shadows Tarot, Vol 1 by Barbara Moore and Simone Gabrielli, Grzegorz Kysinksi, Franco Rivolli & Pietro Scola di Mambro
    I Am Not Wiccan nor do I hold to the Wheel or Rede or any other bits of the tradition, but there was something so appealing about this deck that I kept coming back to it. When I read about the reimagining of the Minor Arcana, I knew I had to have it (Maiden-Mother-Crone nonsense aside). Volume 2 (As Below) is due to be released shortly, but I dunno…
  • The Journey Oracle by Adrienne Trafford
    Yes, another one that’s pretty for pretty’s sake. Don’t know if I’ll get a lot of use out of this deck, but I’ve grown somewhat emotionally attached to it over the years; I used to follow Adrienne’s blog and watched the cards being created, one by one. Very nearly bought the colouring book instead, but who am I kidding??
  • I-Ching Holitzka Deck by Klaus Holitzka
    How long? How long? First it was OoP; then it was avilable at an exhorbitant price; then it was available at a less exhorbitant price but still far too much for a deck of cards; and then it was back! And then it was back and under $20!! It’s all about the art – minimalist ink paintings executed in calligraphic brush style, in black and red with gilded accents. It is sublime.
  • Dame Fortune’s Wheel Tarot by Paul Huson
    When is a Marseille not a Marseille? When an Etteilla is not an Eteilla! (I don’t know, just go with it…) I became enamoured with this deck through seeing Tarot Dame work with it; such lovely faces and bold colours, very reminiscent of stained glass scenes. This deck has a palpable aura of friendliness (no, seriously) and should be another one good for face-to-face readings.

Together with Thalia’s Goddess Oracle, that makes…

13 total. Awwww YISS a full baker’s dozen witch’s coven of new friends to play with ;)

10 thoughts on “Yearly Herculian Trials

  1. Casey Hamilton says:

    “Tough love” from the Steampunk Tarot, oh yeah. It took me months to realize, until I pulled the Queen of Cups, and took a good, long look at her. That is one HARD Queen of Cups, I must say.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I think (subconsciously) one of the things that attracted me so much to this deck is the “no nonsense” ladies; the Pages are especially swoon-inducing. The like that the steampunk theme isn’t overwhelming either; it’s there, but it’s secondary to eveything else going on in the card.

      Like

  2. hersixthcircle says:

    “I was able to view all the cards before my favourite tarot deck wesite got shut down (BOO ON YOU, GOOGLE but I understand)…”

    If it’s the one you showed me a while back… I found a workaround. ;D

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Oh reeeeeally… you have my email address. USE IT. ;D (She has set up a new account, but not all the decks that were on the old one are up – yet?)

      Like

    • submerina says:

      Will do! Some of the cards in As Above are -phenomenal-. The Empress? OMG. I can completely ignore the MMC thing because it is such an amazing card. I like that, even though the artwork is dark, it isn’t unreadable. It feels more “atmospheric” than “bad printing job”.

      Like

  3. D. D. Syrdal says:

    AAAHHHH!! I have to tighten the deck-buying belt for a bit. I’ve been drooling over the steampunk deck for some time. Can’t say i care for the Dream Inspirational. LS’s artwork is … not attractive to me. All their decks look like they’re drawn by the same artist. I like that Journey Oracle, though. Jury’s still out on the As Above deck, but I definitely am not interested in the So Below half of it. Again, looks like the same LS artist that does all their decks, whole different feel to it (which I suppose is what they wanted, but…)

    Like

    • submerina says:

      LS decks are hit-and-miss. I finally saw some images for the So Below and am not impressed; it reminds me too much of the “Wheel of the Year” *yeuch*. I think you’ll loooove the steampunk, so if you need to justify getting just one more… ;)

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

