Dark Moon Month Ahead Spread – August

Still not having much luck with using-my-words, but I’ll post this in its bare bones form for later reference:

Lo Scarabeo Tarot by Mark McElroy and Anna Lazzarini; Lo Scarabeo, 2007

[1] Now/This New Moon (Aug 17) – 6 of Cups (Plentifulness/Deficit)

The woman really is central and stands out from the other card images. She calmly – seductively – offers an opportunity, while the surrounding cards show the result. But of accepting the offer, or refusing it? Can I – should I – trust her? She looks like trouble…

[2] Week of First Quarter (Aug 24) – 3 of Coins (Performance/Variance)

Keep working slowly, achieving perfection in what you’re creating.

[3] Week of Full BLUE Moon (Aug 31) – 5 of Wands (Confrontation/Strife)

Conflicting creative pursuits, possibly distracting from the one in the 3 of Coins.

Readings have been insinuating for months that this August’s Blue Moon is important, so I pulled supporting cards:

[3a] 4 of Swords (Contemplation/Procrastination)
[3b] 5 of Swords (Individuality/Irrationality)

My 5 of Wands experiences generally lead to the negative states of mind in these two cards: procrastination and irrationality.

[4] Week of Last Quarter (Sep 8) – 7 of Cups (Imagination/Illusion)

Too much “want”, not enough “can”.

[5] Next New Moon (Sep 15) – 10 of Swords (Detachment/Ruin)

Eh fuckit.

This is all that jezebel in the 6 of Cups’ fault!

Quint/Theme – 4 The Emperor (Authority/Rigidity)

I hate you you’re not the boss of me I wish you weren’t my father!! *slams bedroom door*

Oh dear.

4 thoughts on “Dark Moon Month Ahead Spread – August

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Holy crap. Me no likey all those swords. Best thing I can say is after that 10 of swords, the only way to go is up. As they say, fasten your seatbelt, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Maybe I’ll choose to strategically ignore this reading ;) I included the keywords from the LWB for this one because they aren’t as grim as the more traditional menaings. The 5 of Swords as “Individuality” is particularly interesting, especially in comparison to the card imagery. We’ll see, we’ll see…

      Like

    • submerina says:

      Must be something in the air; yes, let’s blame the air ;) Sucks too, because I’ve decided I want to write something substantial, like a book, and where have all the words gone? Off helping someone else communicate like a pro – get back here, you assholes!

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

