Trim Trim Sugar

I’ve had the Lo Scarabeo Tarot Deluxe (“deluxe” by way of the embroidered velveteen bag it comes with) for more than a year, but have never read with it. Why not? It’s a very interesting deck yet there was something off about it: those blasted borders. I’m not a border hater, but these ones had to go; they were cramping the cards and sapping the life out of them. “Only one thing can save you now!”

 

Lo Scarabeo Deluxe before and after meeting Señor Tijeras [click to enlarge]

Aaaah, isn’t that better? I planned on tarting them up a bit with a heavy application of glitter while there were borders to hold on to, but aah fuckit impatience won out. This deck still has the worst excuse for a LWB in the history of LWBs, but the cards themselves are vastly improved by the 70g less of cardstock weighing them down. The pale watercolours seem brighter and more defined when not surrounded by huge white borders. One of the reasons I bought this deck was for the incredible Courts –

– but amazingly enough, as I was trimming, strange details in the other cards suddenly became visible. What are the two figures in the background of the Strength card whispering about? Who are the people falling out of the sky in the Knight of Swords? And oh look, there’s a lock and key in the 9 of Swords!

After a long time languishing in the Hot Pink Palace of Deck Storage, maybe this one’s a reader after all.

16 thoughts on “Trim Trim Sugar

  1. Aj / Melia says:

    I like! Though admittedly I hate court cards they are always easier to deal with if they look nice. I’ll only get this deck if someone else trims them for me. Any errors I’d make trimming them would hinder my reading because they’d stand out like a sore thumb!

    I have a few decks that I’ve been tempted to trim but never did for that exact reason.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      It’s not a life-altering deck, so don’t go out of your way to get it. I happen to have it, so I might as well get some use out of it (gods know, I’m not going to get rid of any of my decks! THE HORROR.) Maybe you could trim with one of those fancy scissors they use for scrapbooking – then the wavy edges would be part of the design!

      Irmata’s Handy Trimming Hints:

      A good, sharp pair of scissors with a long blade and comfort grip is essential, as is good lighting. Cut long and slow – I find making an angled cut across the corner first helps to make the starting point for the edge cut more accurate. Then get a rounded corner punch – NOT the Martha Stewart or Fiskars brands! I tried those and they were shit. Mine’s a cheapie and works beautifully. I think the corner radius is 5mm. Keep the scraps and enjoy throwing them in the air like a fool. See if you can find someone else to clean up the mess; picking 312 teeny tiny corner cuttings out of the carpet isn’t fun.

      Like

    • submerina says:

      Mostly they don’t bother me, but this one was just TOO MUCH. Now I’ve got the fever though. I’m sweating and my fingers are twitching. I told my husband to talk me down if he sees me grabbing any other decks for altering! :D

      Like

    • submerina says:

      Thou shalt not harm the Mary-El, lest thou wantest to find me visiting in thine dreams – and not in a sexy way either.

      ;) Admittedly, I don’t have the deck yet – but that’s not going to stop me from judging you! HA HA!

      See above for my trimming hints (and I’ll see you in your dreams… *ominous organ music*)

      Like

      • hersixthcircle says:

        Hahaha! How did I know you wouldn’t like me trimming the Mary-El? But DAMN, that deck is way too big for my HANDS! :( Plus, I like the images better without borders, and that’s how I always post them on my blog.

        As for the trimming tips… I was going to get a paper cutter to make it easier. Using actual scissors sounds way too harsh for my tendons. Good to know about the corner cutter brands. I’m still having trouble finding one in an actual store, so maybe I’ll just have to get one online. Argh.

        Like

        • submerina says:

          THEN GET BIGGER HANDS!!!

          :D I’ve seen pics of the trimmed M-El on AT and it makes me le sad, but if it’s going to make the deck more usable for you (and YOU like it) then all I can do is sit here and glare at you with judgement, tempered by understanding tee hee…

          Here’s the index for the trimming threads on AT – you might get some ideas for tools etc. I don’t have much access to stuff here either (landed up finding the corner rounder at an office supply store) but at least you can order from amazon.com (they won’t ship that stuff here). Were you thinking of a guilotine-style cutter for the edges? The sliding blade kind makes it difficult to make accurate cuts through tarot card stock; a hinged blade would be better.

          Like

      • hersixthcircle says:

        I know, it makes you sad, but yeah… it will make it so much better for me.

        I was going for a hinged blade, for sure. I didn’t even know about the ones with sliding blades until I saw a video about tarot deck trimming and they were like “don’t use this kind” – ha.

        Hmmm, just found some pics of a trimmed Mary-El at AT and they’re not very flattering. Argh…

        Like

        • submerina says:

          Maaaaaaybe, you can leave a thin black border so that the images don’t “fall off”? They’ll still be much smaller, but will retain their individuality. It might just be that I’m used to seeing them against a black background (10+ years of the website!!), but for me the images are so powerful, they _need_ a little something to hold them together.

          Like

      • hersixthcircle says:

        So… How do you feel about the trimmed images that I post on my blog? Like? Don’t like? Maybe they’re okay because I put a black border around the groups of trimmed cards? What if I trim the cards and do the reading on a nice black surface? Hmmm. Thoughts and thinking.

        Like

        • submerina says:

          I do like the way the images flow into each other when you post the cards right next to each other – it’s visually interesting – but I couldn’t read them like that. That deck does things to my head that requires the cards to remain individual powers. Not saying this won’t change in the future – I can see the borderless cards being trance-inducing when laid out next toeach other.

          BUT

          The only thing that matters here is how _you_ feel about the borderless cards! You’re the one who’s reading them :) Laying them on a black surface would serve the same purpose, so that’s a very doable work-around.

          Like

  2. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Wow, what a difference! What is wrong with the publishers that they insist on those massive (and massively annoying) borders? I do hate them. There, I said it. They’re so distracting and as we can all see here, suck the life out of the cards. Bravo! They look amazing now.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      And it READS (you’ll see). I think this deck suffers from a severe case of “too many cooks”; the borders are probably a symptom of this. Ooh, that reminds me: I should probably go post these on the “trimmed” thread over on AT (despite the enabling danger that poses!)

      Like

  3. Debra She Who Seeks says:

    One of the reasons I’ve always liked the Morgan-Greer deck is that it has no borders. Your deck looks MUCH better without those awful borders. I think the lock and key in the 9 of Swords is attached to a trap door in the floor — an escape route to the underground / unconscious from the horrors of the Nightmare Card?

    Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

