Ghosts and Spirits Tarot

II The High Priestes – ghosts and Spirits Tarot by Lisa Hunt; U.S. Games Systems Inc. 2012

I really want the Ghosts & Spirits Tarot by Lisa Hunt. The idea behind the deck is unique and, while I recognise some of the tales depicted in the cards, there are many more that I don’t, and a deck that offers an opportunity for me to learn something is nigh irresistible.

But.

There is such an overwhelming sadness to the deck that I don’t know if I could own it as art, let alone ever read with it. Melancholy, despair, hopelessness, futile rage – waves of it come off the deck for me and that’s just when viewing digital images (and I’ve felt that way since the first card preview was released). Even the more neutral cards depicting eg. dryads have an underlying air of GTFO (is the only phrase coming to me).

That said, I think it could give brilliant readings, especially for people who actively work with the dead and other spirits.

On the flip side, now that I’ve seen more images of the Zombie Tarot – which I thought was going to join my collection merely as a novelty – I am twitching to get my hands on it! It seems like a downright smart – and smartass – reader. And wouldn’t you know it, it’s nearly time for my yearly trip to the Amazon!

9 thoughts on “Ghosts and Spirits Tarot

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Hmmm… I’m not sure about either of these. I’ve got a couple of others on pre-order that aren’t out until Sept., and am waiting for the second English language edition of the Victorian Romantic which will hopefully be out sometime later this year from Magic Realist. (the Alice Tarot has been pushed back to 2014). I’m still debating on the Wormweird, too. Oy, too many decks!!!

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Oooooh, the Wormweird hey? It’s funny how that deck freaks a lot of folks out, and yet I find the Ghosts & Spirits more disturbing. Although if you’re going to insist on continuing accumulating decks I like then you’re going to have to put trigger warning on your blog, m’kaaaaay? ;)

      Like

      • D. D. Syrdal says:

        Hahaha ;) Fair enough. I am sort of reconsidering the Zombie Tarot, after closer scrutiny. The artwork really is very good, and it’s so unique. Hmmm… :::drums fingers on keysllojglkajdflk;aJLKfjd:::

        Like

  2. hersixthcircle says:

    Hrrrmm… Yeah, I’m getting the same vibe from the Ghosts and Spirits Tarot. Eek. Not sure I’m into the Zombie Tarot, though, either. But I’m still a newb and don’t have all the 8 gazillion decks you’ve already got. I’m still catching up on those. ;)

    (Every time I find a new deck that I adore, I look to see if you’ve already got it. Every time, so far, you do. Hehe…)

    Like

  3. Valiel Elentári says:

    There is a lot of darkness inside this deck indeed, but I feel like it is so efficient to make us move forward. The answers always point towards the light and life. Interesting impression though I wish it could be discussed further.

    Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

