Not Tarot: Ferrero Rocher Torte

Lick the screen, you know you want to. (Pic from Bake or Break *click*)

On second thought, this is tarot: The things this Devil of a cake will make you do… ;)

This recipe originally came from a magazine insert; I ate a loooot of cake to tweak it to the point of perfection, which was the day I realised it tasted like Ferrero Rocher® ; a rich, delicious, gluten free, chocolate hazelnut dream… I promptly lost the recipe sometime in late 2005.

I LOST IT.

But then… all hail the power of the Wayback Machine! I blogged this recipe in a past internet incarnation – and it was saved HALLELUJAH!! Though I am no longer eating chocolate, I can at least spread the *OMNOMNOM* and enjoy it vicariously through the aether.

Ingredients:

for the torte:

2/3 C hazelnuts, toasted and ground
1/4 C all-purpose flour [I use sweet rice flour or even cocoa]
4 tsp instant coffee powder [can be upped for a stronger coffee taste]
1 C butter
3/4 C milk chocolate chips
1/3 C semi-sweet chips
3/4 C granulated sugar
4 eggs

for the glaze:

1/4 C butter
3/4 C semi-sweet chips
2 Tbsp whipping cream

Method:

torte:

TOAST hazelnuts over low heat in a dry pan [iron skillet works really well], shaking them around every few minutes to prevdent burning. Some of the skins will come off while toasting. Remove from heat when the nuts start to brown and smell “toasty”. Place the nuts between two damp tea towels and rub vigorously to remove the remaining skins [don’t worry if some skin remains]. To “grind” them, I just put the nuts in a ziploc bag and bash ’em! [Remember to reserve some for decoration]. Excellent stress relief, with a reward at the end for bad behaviour ;)

PREHEAT oven to 350 degress. Grease a 9″ round springform pan. Line bottom with greased parchment paper, greasing the paper too (melted butter does the trick).

COMBINE ground nuts, flour and coffee. Set aside.

MELT butter and choc chips over low heat stirring with a whisk until smooth. Allow to cool for 15 minutes [+/-]
STIR in sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each [the mixture will start off lumpy and grainy and then stiffen up and smooth with each additional egg]. Stir in flour mixture and mix well. Pour into prepared pan.

BAKE for 30-35 minutes, or until just set in centre [a chopstick inserted into the middle will come out wet, but not dripping. This is a moist, dense cake.]

COOL for 10 minutes, then remove from pan and allow to cool completely [I place the cake on parchment paper on the baking rack and turn it every half hour to minimise sinking].

glaze:

COMBINE butter and chips and melt over low heat as before. Remove from heat and stir in cream until no white streaks are visible. Allow to cool until slightly thickened and of a good spreading consistency.

POUR glaze over cooled/chilled cake and spread with an offset spatula, allowing the glaze to run over the edge of the cake [make sure the cake is on a plate or wax paper so you don’t have to lick the counter]. Place reserved nuts evenly around cake border. Chill to set glaze [score glaze along desired serving lines before completely set].

ENJOY the singing of heavenly choirs in your mouth.

Housewives Tarot by Quirk Books, 2004

 

  • As this is a torte, the top will crack and sink as it cools. This leaves a nice hollow which can be filled with whipped cream (as one does).
  • I always enjoyed eating it cold out of the fridge, but then… it is also delicious at room temperature… and warmed up. Decisions, decisions.
  • Being almost pure chocolate, this torte keeps very well for up to a week in the fridge (never had one “survive” longer than that) and can also be frozen, prior to glazing.
  • I guess you could substitute chocolate of a higher quality than plain ol’ chips, but in my experience sometimes cheap ‘n’ nasty is best.
12 thoughts on “Not Tarot: Ferrero Rocher Torte

  1. Aj / Melia says:

    Wow. If it wasn’t for the 4 eggs, I’d so try this. With 4 eggs that is a guarantied stomach ache for me…and maybe that is a good thing ’cause I’d have to eat this all by myself.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Crap, are you allergic or intolerant? Does the rest of the family have issues too? The Man is trying eggs in small doses for the first time in 3 years, but between my -no chocolate- and his -no dairy, hazelnuts, no eggs- this cake is a dream of the past.

      Like

  2. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Well there’s no fish or avocado in the recipe, I’m good ;) I am, however, far too lazy to make it. Which is a good thing. Been baking FAR too much since I’ve been out of work.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Mmmm, fishy hazelnut torte :D I’m just imagining the flavour sensation of canned tuna paired with chocolate *barf* It’s surprisingly quick to make, even though it reads like a bit of work *push push*

      (You don’t like avo? MOARFORME!!)

      Like

  3. Magic Mentha (@MagicMentha) says:

    Wow–yum.

    Love hazelnut and chocolate. Sorry I haven’t been commenting–I need to get my blog feed thingies fixed up. I’m so lazy. Oye. And headachy at the moment.

    Yes, we also follow a slew of food allergy restrictions here, too. Pele avoids gluten, dairy/casein, soy, peanuts, pineapple, peas, yeast…etc, etc. I avoid mostly gluten and anything too yeasty, also honestly I can’t have very much dairy very often–it triggers my sinus headaches (like I have right now–bad me! I knew I shouldn’t have put half n’ half in my tea.

    Anyway. I love drooling over food. So thank ye!

    XOXO,
    MM

    Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

