WiP Wishlist

It’s that time again – time to drool over unreleased decks in a brazen display of covetousness and consumerist capitalism! All hail the free market system!

 

Princess of Fire by Elizabeth Kyle (click through for full size – it’s WOW)

Elizabeth Kyle’s Oracle Cards seems to be a tarot deck, despite the “oracle” in their name. I wasn’t familiar with Elizabeth’s name, but having a look through her gallery, I recognise a lot of her pieces. Her work is super-retro, taking me back to my childhood and all the pretty cards and high fantasy stationary I longed to possess.

The Princess of Fire is utterly marvelous! She flies through the air on a carousel horse, flanked by salamanders and olms (I think), against a sunset painted in my favourite colours. The Queen of Fire speaks just as powerfully to my inner child-of-the-early-80s; it is done in the same colour scheme as the Princess, but brought down to earth.

I know this deck is going to get flack for the art style being old-fashioned and fluffy-bunny, but sometimes a girl just wants something frilly-for-frilly’s-sake in her closet.

 

Queen of Swords – The Healing Tarot by Juno Lucina & Monica Knighton

The Healing Tarot is a fascinating examination of the tarot as a tool for exploring health and wellness issues*, created by Juno Lucina (The Kingdom Within Tarot) and Monica Knighton (The Tarot of the Dead).

The images are loosely based on the RWS model and take astrological, qabalistic and archetypal perspectives into consideration. They are presented in black and white – which is an isntant win as far as I’m concerned – and are decidedly quirky in attitude. There are sentient hotdogs, tea pots, mad scientists and martinis, and still the images retain their power. The Court cards are especially striking and even disturbing for what they evoke within. This alone shows me what a useful deck this will be, that it can get that kind of reaction out of me.

And, oh, the Swords; the Swords with their backs and knees and shoulders and me with my tingling and aching and creaking – oh yes, we’re going to get along just fine.

 

Death – Rosetta Tarot by M.M. Meleen

In the words of its creator, M.M. Meleen, the Rosetta Tarot “started with the intention to create a tarot that could be described as the love-child of the Thoth tarot and the Rider-Waite-Smith tarot decks. As it evolved, the genes of the Thoth tarot parent proved dominant. It became Thoth-based and inspired, though the less abstract and more illustrative style reflects traces of an RWS bloodline.”

The artist has done a few blog posts on the creation of the deck, as well as explaining the art behind it. Something amazing to me is that the suits were each executed in a different artistic medium, chosen to reflect the nature of the suit. There is a companion book – The Book of Seshet – to make for a fully immersive experience.

Even though I have a Thoth already (and don’t need another) I would really like to add this deck to my collection for the artistic story alone.

 

Death – Zombie Tarot by Paul Kepple & Stacey Graham

And now for something completely different: The Zombie Tarot *aaaaaaargh* I’ll be fighting The Man for this one!

Designed by Paul Kepple (The Housewives Tarot) and Stacey Graham, it is set to be published by Quirk (who are also responsible for Pride and Prejudice and Zombies) and is currently available for pre-order.

The art style is a mixture of digital and graphic ephemera elements and I’ll have to see more before I commit, but honestly I just want to engineer an undead throw-down between this one and the Vampyres and finally settle the rivalry, once and for all ;)

 

Let me know in the comments if there are any beauties that have escaped my attention during my absence – that wishlist isn’t going to grow itself!

 

* IANAD please don’t use the tarot as a substitute for professional medical treatment

16 thoughts on “WiP Wishlist

  1. Monica says:

    Ahhhhhhhhh awesomeness! This is not fair, do you know how long my wish list is?!!! The Healing Tarot is Very appealing.

    A very warm welcome back, actually, it’s been great to read your posts. Happy blogging!
    Blessings.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Thanks; it’s good to be back. Still finding my feet, but I’ll be back making a nuisance of myself in the comments section of your blogs soon enough ;)

      Like

  2. submerina says:

    Yes, it’s been long awaited! I wonder how many more zombie decks we’ll see; I can’t imagine lo Scarabeo and US Games _aren’t_ going to join the party.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Oh yes! Been watching that one come together over the years has been such a journey. I’m very excited to get my hands on it, even if I don’t think I’ll read with it (been proven wrong before!) It’s the extra cards that have me excited; it’s absolutely what I would do with a deck :)

      Like

  3. Digital Dame says:

    As usual, I’m the odd man out here. I don’t get the appeal of zombies, never have. The Mandala cards are nice, I just wish half the card wasn’t keywords. I hate when they do that. Maybe I’m feeling out of sorts today, but none of these decks do a thing for me. :::grump-grump:::

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I’m a vampire girl :)= Will wait to see the remaining cards to determine if 2 copies will be joining our household, but my husband will get one just to add to his zombie paraphernalia! The size of the art on the mandala cards also bothers me; I’d much rather have a big piece of art to focus on and make my own interpretations.

      This is a grump-safe zone. Grumpy ;)

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

