Quickies with Jolanda

2 quickie readings I came across this evening and seeing as I’ve been – let’s be honest – S.T.O.N.E.D. (accidentally) on allergy meds since 8:30am. Oh yes, *that* was a fun day at work can’t wait to do it again and ruminate on my poor decisions while I struggle to stay upright. So, expect typos!

The first one I found via Melia, from a new-to-me blog, That’s Totally Tarot. This is a significant spread, because in 3 weeks it will be the 10-year anniversary of a day that changed my life; the day I “hunted” The Man down on what is now the OKCupid network. We were married 8 months later, a 2 months after meeting in person for the first time. People ask me, “When did you know?” and the truth is, I knew the first day. I even told my mom that I had a feeling he was it; this based on a 7-line profile on a wacky internet “dating” site. I’m good with the BIG decicions!

 

Jolanda Tarot aka Swedish Witch Tarot by Jolanda Den Tredjes and Hans Arnold; AGM Muller, 2008

 If you could travel back in time 10 years ago and have a 5 minute conversation with yourself what would you say? Using your deck do the following spread:

[1] Do not do this – The Lovers

That’s… fuckin’ creepy. And hilarious.  *Exactly* 10 years ago, I was preparing to get biblical with someone else. I don’t think it was a bad idea (though it caused me some hurt at the time) and there weren’t any noteworthy consequences… It’s all part of growing up, right?

[2] Do this – 10 of Cups

Stay home? Celebrate with family and friends instead (I went to my best friend’s birthday the next day)? You had your fun in the moonlight; be happy for it and move on. Everything is temporary (especially 10s!)

[3] Change this – 10 of Swords

Oh good, Ruination & Despair™, though this 10S looks more pouty than the usual death-by-multiple-stab-wounds. Again the 10 says move on, girl. Stop dwelling on all the things you think you did wrong. I see that little star shining in the background, though. The Man?

 

The other is from Monica (who I have pretty much dubbed the “Queen of Quickies” in my head, and I mean that in a completely respectable way :)) at tarot in a teacup, and is based on a passage written by Paulo Coelho:

Am I cured?’
‘No. You’re someone who is different, but who wants to be the same as everyone else. And that, in my view, is a serious illness.’
‘Is wanting to be different a serious illness?’
‘It is if you force yourself to be the same as everyone else: it causes neuroses, psychoses and paranoia. It’s a distortion of nature, it goes against God’s laws, for in all the world’s woods and forests, He did not create a single leaf the same as another. But you think it’s mad to be different and that’s why you chose to live in Villette, because everyone is different here, and so you appear to be the same as everyone else. Do you understand?’

from Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coelho

Jolanda Tarot aka Swedish Witch Tarot by Jolanda Den Tredjes and Hans Arnold; AGM Muller, 2008

 

[1] How am I different?4 of Swords

Hmm, this reminds me of the Hierophant, my birth card. I’m different in how I find my peace (“truce”)? A temple of the mind; an internal cosmos. There is an icy bleakness depicted in the card, but it doesn’t *feel* icy or bleak. I think it’s quite pretty. A HA HA HA HAAAA!! Fortress of Solitude! LOL, Jolanda, LOL :D

[2] How do I conform?3 of Swords

My pain is no different or more special than others’. *POW* That came out of nowhere! Not even a little surprised to see the 3 of Swords again. Maaaaybe I conform in *not* showing the true extent of my pain, good little bottler that I am. Must. be. brave.

Bit of a Swords party tonight; no shocker. Sleep it off, soldier.

 

10 thoughts on “Quickies with Jolanda

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Well, frankly, I don’t see much point to the first spread. Why worry about what happened 10 years ago? If you COULD go back and change something, you’ve already learned whatever lesson could be learned, as evidenced by the fact that you WOULD change it if you could. Does that make sense? Am I talking in circles?

    Like

    • submerina says:

      No, you are making sense! Maybe that’s why I’m getting confusion from it, because that ship has sailed off the edge of the world already and is never coming back. I’m always looking for something I might have missed. Perhaps in looking too hard – and finding nothing – I make things up?

      Like

      • Melia Suez says:

        I got a stiff lecture from Hubby last night about looking back and second guessing myself…

        That said 10 of Cups could be “keep it platonic” and so the 10 of Swords would be the “woe is me” or “worry wart” attitude.

        Like

      • submerina says:

        Now that you mention it, this spread looks like it’s giving me a stiff lecture about worrying (“change this”) about the past! Almost an “So is *this* what you want to hear? Are you happy now?” :)

        Like

  2. Monica says:

    Hmmm. Why go back in time – true, really, what is the purpose? I’d say, perhaps a card on “what lesson I am meant to learn from this” may give some insight, or “advice on what to do to heal xxxx”, since some past events still carry wounds and affect the present – if that is the case. It’s definitely fascinating though, I must say.

    You are different in that you may well have a siddhi, a special gift (and I’m not trying to be cheesy here). Not many levitate while meditating – heck, not many even get to meditate, since that means stopping the flow of thoughts completely and going beyond. (but that could also be, well, space cadet material!) :) I really like that 4 of Swords, so serene, inward, the white hair of wisdom grown long, spiritual.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      You introduced me to a new word! I’m reading about siddhi and the chakras now. What’s funny is that you pointed out the levitation and I had a smarty remark about that definitely not being it, because I’ve always had “rocks in my arse”. It’s unnatural how heavy I am. Then, reading about the eight primary siddhis, I discover that “garima” – becoming infinitely heavy – is one of them! :D

      Like

  3. Helen says:

    I saw the first spread myself today and thought I might try it, but I really like the second one and think I will give that a go on my blog. Thanks for sharing these.

    Like

  4. erishilton says:

    That’s kind of a fun little spread… I might have to give it a try. Ten years ago, The Magician I Married and I were newly married and had to face DECISION TIME about a lot of things.

    Seems appropriate.

    Still, anything my Future Self would tell my Young Dumb Self… I probably wouldn’t listen anyway. ;)

    Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

