“Garnet Apple”

“There is a vitality, a life force, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium, and (it) will be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is, nor how it compares with other expression. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly– to keep the channel open.”

Martha Graham

Pomegranate silver and bronze garnet pendant by WingedLion (Natalia Moroz & Sergey Zhiboedov)

 

Currently swooning over this exquisitely lovely pomegranate pendant by etsy seller WingedLion. There is also an all-silver version – though I prefer the contrast of the warm bronze against the silver figure and garnets – and a pure pomegranate with garnets and amethysts (no Persephone).

(Hmm. Not to project or anything, but she seems trapped inside her pomegranate, her boundaries; trapped with all her pretty gifts… or is she waiting to be reborn, a Queen?)

 

12 thoughts on ““Garnet Apple”

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Wow. That is stunning. I haven’t clicked through to the etsy shop because the price will probably give me a coronary, but that is gorgeous. I buy very little jewelry because when I do, I like it to be something wonderful and unusual. This is hitting all the right notes. Too bad I’m a pauper ;)

    Not quite getting the Persephone-trapped-in-a-pomegranate symbolism, though. Do I need to brush up on my mythology?

    Like

  2. submerina says:

    Click away – it’s totally affordable! (I know, I was shocked too.)

    Just personal projection; no mythological symbolism. Been making a list of all the things I want to do, assuming I can ever, EVER, break this state of inertia. I am very gifted (there, I said it) and I just… sit there, curled up in the dark, safe with my gifts (garnets), but separated from them.

    Like

    • Digital Dame says:

      I blame the season. All this dark and gray and wet and cold could suck the life out of Pollyanna. Our spirits are still in hibernation, but the days are starting to get noticeably longer down here, you should see some change soon.

      Like

  3. Thalia says:

    Did you find that through the blog A faerietale of inspiration? Because she featured that pendant a couple of weeks ago (and yes, GORGEOUS!!) I can’t remember now if I got the bookmark from you or found it through someone else, but here’s the link:
    http://a-faerietale-of-inspiration.blogspot.com/
    I’ve found some of my new favorite artists through her blog.

    Also, holy cow on the inertia. I just got through with a major meditation/vision on my own motivation. And I swear I’m saying this every two days now, but there must be something in the aethir.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Oooh, no I didn’t, but thank you for the reminder. She used to be on my list of dailies, but dropped off some time ago for reasons unknown. Found it through my “things you might like” suggestions and surpirse, surpirise, I did! Here’s another I forgot about ’til now: http://www.ullam.typepad.com/

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

