21 Days of Light & Shadow: Day 3

Light and Shadow Tarot by Brian Williams, Michael Gopford; Inner Traditions, 1997

III The Empress – 8 of Swords

I’ll be honest – my first instinct was to cheat and do another cut! But after events of yesterday and the way they haunted my sleep last night, leaving me feeling generally tied and trapped, it’s obvious even to a thick-headed mule like myself that there is something to learn here. (And my word, the dyslexia is bad today. Hooray stress!)

It is clear – at least in very, very basic tarot terms – who is light and who is shadow as represented by these two cards. The Empress is love and abundance and all good things, while the 8 of Swords is feeling powerless in (self-imposed) imprisonment. The Empress is Home and the 8/S is alone, confused and far, far from any place that could offer comfort and security. If the empress is Nature, the 8/S is disconnected from it. Isolated. Resigned.

The 8 of Swords hasn’t appeared in a reading for me for a very long time, but then, I haven’t felt like this in a very long time.

8 thoughts on “21 Days of Light & Shadow: Day 3

  1. Digital Dame says:

    The Tarot so seldom gives me what I expect or want to see and hear. I just wish I could make as much sense out of it all as you seem to be able to do. Talk about dense, most of the time I have no idea what message it is I’m supposed to be hearing.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Honestly, I’m making it up as I go along :) And really, I’m cheating, seeing as the only person I ever read for is myself, so I kinda know the answers already. For me, it has a lot to do with the deck as well; some just give me garbage, or I can “see” there’s something there but for the life of me, I don’t know what it is.

      Like

  2. Thalia says:

    Oh wow so that’s going to be a concurrent waning of the light (sun) and waxing of the light (moon) which will then flip the other way round at the solstice. Whoa. Topsy-turvy. Or perhaps balanced.

    I haven’t pulled this deck out in some time; when I first got it it was just too big for my hands. I trimmed it down but never rounded the corners so it was sharp to work with. Maybe I’ll do that now.

    The shadow has been on my mind a lot lately. I have never that I know of had an interaction with (I assume) her. I mean I’ve got plenty of voices in my head, too, and maybe I just hadn’t recognized her. But reading about the shadow nothing really rings a bell. I don’t have that evil sniping voice in there. If the shadow is what you’ve pushed aside and disowned, and you have been brought up all your life to consider yourself nothing, or bad, then is the shadow the positive, shining, beautiful stuff you’ve disowned? That might make it conventionally unrecognizable. Hmm.

    I really love this idea of these readings with this deck, by the bye.

    Like

    • Thalia says:

      What’s weird also is that supposedly the shadow is the way to the animus. And I’m thinking I just *might* be doing okay with all that ‘animus’ stuff, you know, just *maybe.* But I don’t recall anything like a shadow on the way.

      Like

      • submerina says:

        Just maybe ;)

        And that’s an interesting road. A lot of my Shadow has to do with the “male” parts me that are “unacceptable” in a woman – the anger, intelligence, self-assurance etc.

        Like

    • submerina says:

      Shiiiit, I didn’t even realise the waxing-waning correlation (DOI!) – I LOVE it!

      I have a *very* strong Shadow and I think she is definitely more of the “golden” type; like you say, the good things that got pushed away and then festered in the dark. I have a sniping voice too, but it isn’t my shadow, nor is it my animus (I don’t think). Whatever it is though, it is the enemy. The louder I make the other voices – the good ones -, the more it struggles to be heard. DIE DIE DIE! :)

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

