Bloggiversary & Giveaway!

A little over a year ago, I got my first tarot deck. A few weeks later, I started this blog to record my readings, observations in studying the tarot and other discoveries along the way. (I wish I had recorded the exact date, as it would be fun to do a “natal” chart for le blog, but the best I can do is “Libra” lol).

I could never have anticipated how quickly I became happily enchanted with the deck, the reading experience and tarot in general. I was amazed at how perfect a tool for digging around in my head that pile of cards turned out to be. Next thing I knew, I had an entire collection of decks and not enough “issues” to read with them all – ha!

The most amazing part of this, though, has been the incredible people I have managed to connect with through el bloggo and the blogs sites of other tarotistas and mystical types. I have learned SO much and made leaps and bounds of progress in my own journey thanks to your input and sharing of your experiences. Not to mention, even if I undertook – and continue to pursue – this as a personal project, it really does make a difference to *share* this with like-minded creatures. It has been 10 kinds of encouraging and motivating to read your comments and be able to respond in kind.

Sooooooooooo…

GIVEAWAY!!

What’s this?

Oh, just a little something I’ve been working on for a few months. I call it: The Tarot Fauxbergé!

It’s the natural outcome of an insatiable desire to embellish the living crap out of things, getting too close to a deck with a gigantic stick up its rear.

The deck in question is the LS Universal Tarot – an odious little stack of cards, completely devoid of any sense of humour – which I acquired because I figured I needed a RWS clone and it looked nice on the internet; nicer than the RWS, which gives me hives. I’ve loathed it since the day we met and, from the readings it’s given me, the feeling is obviously more than mutual. So, when I started getting the urge to bling a deck, I knew who the first victim would be *MUAHAHAHAHAHAAAA!!!* I could throw all manner of glitter and glue and sparkles at it and if the whole thing turned into a giant, shiny mess? Meh, no great loss.

Oh, but it didn’t. It is glittery and sparkly and shiny, but not a mess. A delight! And from the first card on, I knew I would be giving this one away. I have been giddy with anticipation of this moment; it’s been sooooo haaaaard having to wait – I simply must share its irridescent wonder with someone!

All you have to do is pull a single card – from any deck – and leave a 1 sentence birthday prediction for this blog in the comments. The corresponding card from the Fauxbergé will be your entry into a random draw. Anyone can enter – I’m including international shipping with tracking. The giveaway closes at midnight, October 11 (Canuckian Thanksgiving); any entries posted after this time will not qualify.

Best of luck to all of you! I know the Fauxbergé will be going to a loving and sparkle-friendly home :)

For further details of what you can expect to receive and more pictures, please read on…

The deck is housed in a wooden box, painted gold and covered in approximately 600 faux rhinestones in gold, purple and lilac. I arranged the rhinestones in patterns as they came to me, just letting it flow into the Indo-Russian end result. The sides are dipped in fuchsia micro-glitter as well because, well, too much of a good thing is never enough! The box has a glass inset top and front, which really adds to its appearance as a treasure chest. It is lined with black felt to protect the deck from bumps and scratches.

Not content to leave it there, I also made a simple little bag for extra protection and travelling purposes. The fabric is a soft brocade in red and gold that seemed very Renaissance-like to me and therefore suits the original style of the deck art very well. It is drawn together with gold lurex ribbon that wraps around a vintage brooch to secure.

The main attraction stands 2 inches high and is a showgirl at heart. If Carol Hertzer’s illuminated decks are the gold standard in sparkle-decks, then this deck is a drag queen in full regalia. I used a combination of pearlescent and glitter-bomb nail polishes and glitter glue to add layers of shine that reflect and change colour, depending on how the light catches them. Nothing about this was planned either; very not my M.O. I just went at it, not stopping to think or evaluate (except for, “Does it need more glitter?” to which the answer was invariably, “Yes.”) Et voila!

The Majors are fully decorated, the Courts are highlighted in their suit colour and the Pips have their suit elements covered (Wands-gold glitter, Cups-holo blue-white sparkle, Swords-silver glitter-bomb, Coins-opalescent flake.) I actually held back in not blinging the Minors completely – largely because there is no coherent colour-scheme to the deck – but this really serves to highlight the elements for maximum impact.

Finally, I trimmed off the nasty white borders that were just holding everything back and rounded the corners. It even shuffles! (Although, I think gentle swirl-shuffling is best. The sparkle seems to be adhered pretty firmly, but I don’t know what the impact of repeated friction will do.) I will also Reiki the whole shebang, specific to the person who wins (unless you’re not into that-sort-of-thing).

But enough words – pictures! The deck is very hard to photograph effectively, especially in static electric light, but the overall effect is visible even if the pictures aren’t that great.

Aces – mmmmmm, shiny…

The World – HELLA shiny

Glowy, shiny, sparkly, glittery madness!

GOOD LUCK!

33 thoughts on “Bloggiversary & Giveaway!

  1. Helen says:

    Happy first birthday!

    I pulled for your birthday prediction from the Alchemical Renewed The Magician!

    You have the power to create in the next year whatever you choose to on this blog and know it will be as successful as you wan to make it.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Ooooooh, that a goody! Great start, Helen :) And also quite appropriate based on some personal stuff that I’ll be blogging as soon as I figure out how to put all the interconnections into some sort of sense!

      Like

  2. Debra She Who Seeks says:

    Happy Blogoversary! I adore drag queens. So how much more could I adore a drag queen tarot deck?!?

    From the Legacy of the Divine Tarot, I pulled the 3 of Wands — a good start has been made, much remains to be done. But your ship is coming in — you can see it approaching in the distance!

    GLITTER!!! *happy sigh*

    Like

    • submerina says:

      This blog needs more Wands to balance out all the Watery Air I bring! One of the posters on the AT forum said I need more glitter for it to be truly drag queen material – a CHALLENGE! I’m a little afraid that any mor would make it hard to lift ;)

      Like

  3. Digital Dame says:

    Happy Blogiversary!

    I can’t tell you how much (well, maybe I can) I have enjoyed chatting with you and reading your blog over this time.

    I pulled the Two of Wands from the Anna K 2nd edition. Now this is a glum looking little card, but it’s a fire card, and the poor sap sitting at the crossroads has many choices of which direction to go. The world is your oyster! (sidenote: I pulled Death for myself, so, yanno…)

    And I have to say you turned an unconscionably ugly deck into a thing of beauty! I have utterly given up on LS as a deck publisher, what they do to borders is positively criminal. But you have resurrected it, it is back from the grave! ;) I may have to play with some of their uglier decks myself now (I’m sure it’ll end up looking like a 3-yr-old got into the finger paints, but who cares, right?)

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Awwwww, thanks :’) Hooray for blogging and bridging the spaces that separate us.

      “Crossroads” are my theme de l’année, beyond even the reaches of little bloggie. What started out as something small last year is becoming ever more expansive!

      I’m a fan of about 75% of LS decks. I really like that they just “go for it” as far as themes and art style are concerned and they’re definitely going for more subtle borders in many of the newest decks. But yes, this one was an awful zombie deck :(

      Don’t be afraid of the finger paints! Just do it!

      Like

  4. Melia Suez says:

    I also have bought, several different times, RWS clones for study purposes since I HATE the RWS deck. I always end up getting rid of them though. I’ve worked very hard at paring down my collection of decks and always feel the pull to buy another. So far I’ve done pretty well resisting :).

    So since I do NOT want to be entered into your give away despite being very amused by the shiny deck, I’m going to draw from an oracle deck to give your blog its birthday wish. I drew the Faery Godmother from Brian Froud’s Faeries’ Oracle: continue to give and receive the good “things” which lighten the heart and smooth the way.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      What a magical card! She’s absolutely beautiful; love those blues and the little lights. I’ll keep giving and one day there’ll be something you can’t resist ;)

      Like

  5. sarah magdalene says:

    Dear Prudence!
    I drew the eight of discs from Crowley pack. Seems to me your blog is destined to grow into a huge tree of wonderful connections and opportunities. :)

    I love your bling cards so please enter me! I have managed to come to terms with Pixie (Pamela CS). She used to give me shitty readings but these days she is kinder, though never exactly upbeat. I suspect she loathed Waite, and that has left some residue.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Hey, when even the Crowley cooperates, you know it’s going to be a GOOD year :D

      I never thought of the effect Waite’s stuffiness might have had on the final cards. I know Pixie was a set designer, but even for set designs, her illlustrations are so lifeless to me :(

      When your deck is done, I think I’ll have to get two: one to keep pristine and one to bling-a-ling! Glitter makes everything exponentioally more magical.

      Like

  6. Celeste says:

    Wow!

    This is a really excellent giveaway, but what I’m MOST amazed by is the fact that you have only been reading tarot for ONE year! I can’t believe that. The way you write and post about tarot gives one the impression that you’ve been doing it for years. Very impressive!

    From the Halloween Tarot (the deck I’m using this month) I got the charming and whimsical World card. You’re really moving onward and upward! This blog will see many changes, achievements and levels of greatness. No stagnation here.

    Grats and Happy 1 Year,
    Celeste

    Like

    • submerina says:

      What happened to your blog?? I hope it’s only a temporary disappearance…

      Thank you for the massive compliment =^_^= I’m a long-time stalker of tarot, so maybe I absorbed something along the way!

      I could see you making your own amazing sparkle deck. C’mon, you know you want to!

      Like

    • submerina says:

      1.) I used to watch Liberace performances on TV with my mom when I was young – I had completely forgotten about that! I thought he was the height of fabulous. How right I was!

      2.) OMG I LOVE those greeting cards! I used to horde them as a kid and I probably still have my little collection tucked away somewhere. A couple of years ago I found an Erte calendar with a glittery comver that reminded me of those greeting cards. i squealed in the middle of the grovery store :D

      Like

  7. Diane A.S. Stuckart says:

    Happy Bloggiversary! I’ve just stumbled across your site after reading about deck pimping on the aeclectic forum. Good stuff here. And, you have done a fabulous job turning this sow’s ear into a glittery silk purse! In hopes of winning it, I have pulled a BD card for your blog for the coming year…the Page of Cups from the Hanson-Roberts deck.

    Wonderful surprises are in store, but don’t focus so intently on the fun stuff that you are inadvertently bowled over by larger life issues that you just didn’t see coming. :) ~Diane

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Welcome! Heh heh heh – silk purse, indeed :) I’m glad I let my subscription expire, otherwise I’d be buying up everyone’s unwanted decks on the trading forum. Must. Glitter. MORE.

      Like

  8. Sharyn says:

    My card of the day today was the Ace of cups, I’m using the Miss Cleo deck this week.

    My reading of the card on my blog is much like what I see here in your primped deck. You’ve let the real idea out of the corral and run like the wind with it. Your deck is absolutely stunning, MUCH nicer than the Illuminated, as I’ve said all along on the thread. :)

    Beautiful job, happy blogirthday, you are truly a talented artist in all area.
    Sharyn/AJ

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I’ve always had a strange liking for the Miss Cleo; I think it’s the pseudo-Egyptian theme, combined with the colour scheme and those hands with the looong nails. It’s so wrong, it’s right! :)

      And I am beyond flattered. What I enjoy about the idea is that anyone can do this, honestly. It’s the kind of project that you really can’t mess up and it makes a deck so much more personal.

      Like

  9. Flavio says:

    Congratulations, keep on the good work!

    I found irresistible to draw a card for the giveaway, such hard and beautiful work deserves a good home, hope is mine =) this card comes from the Deviant Moon Tarot: 6 of Coins

    Now that you had reach 1 year is much easier to plan and project how to expand and keep growing for the coming years!.

    If you want to take a look at the card please see this gallery.

    PS: I’m celebrating bloggiversary as well (fifth) my giveaway is a mobile wheel of fortune please take a look at this: CLICK HERE!

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Congratulations on your 5th! That’s quite a milestone for blogging. You’ve given me something to work towards. May you find it more and more satisfying with every day!

      Like

  10. Jilly says:

    Gorgeousness is in this post! Congrats on your 1 year mark! I’m quite inspired because I am in the midst of putting together my own online Tarot journal. It is a first for me, and I’m so excited to get it up. I feel joy for your Bloggiversary because I envision my own next year :).

    Okay, my pull for you…

    I pulled Five of Swords from the Alchemical Tarot: Renewed deck.

    You will reflect on your experience thus far with your Tarot blog and contemplate innovative ways to improve it even more for this year; Your focus will be on taking it to new heights! Good luck!

    Like

    • submerina says:

      You will get SO much out of it, I’m sure. Not just from the journalling experience, but from the incredible people you’re going to meet and the inspiration and education you’ll be exposed to. Best of luck (and keep us updated)!

      Like

  11. intuitive2244 says:

    Congratulations!!

    And your card is…. Justice (from the Silver Era Tarot). Mmmm…interesting, for me it means you’ll have a crucial year ahead, a year to balance things and find harmony but also karma-related. Maybe you’ll encounter some learning lessons!

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Oooh, I hope those learnings don’t smack me on the butt too hard ;) It’s a point past the WoF – which seems to haunt me – so that’s a good thing!

      Like

  12. Kiki says:

    EGADS! I just typed out a long comment and I forgot to fill out my name/email, and it took me back to a blank comment form. Blasted WordPress!!! I’ll try to reconstruct my original comment:

    That is some seriously beautiful bling you’ve added to the cards. The Aces are particularly breathtaking! And the box is so Purplicious, my favorite color!

    I took out my Morgan’s Tarot to try and get a fun, freaky prediction for you. But the card I drew was simple and lovely. It’s titled, “Love”. The illustration shows a pair of snuggling lovebirds on a branch, while the sun shines down on them. It looks like Year 2 of blogging will be one where you not only fall deeper in love with your cards, but also in the writing and sharing of your thoughts about them.

    Happy blogiversary, my dear! Or should I say… Happy Borthday! LOL!!

    xoxoxo
    Kiki

    Like

    • submerina says:

      GRRRR! Stupid technology making our lives “easier”. The Aces definitely pack a punch; I just went nuts with all that real estate waiting to be covered in sparkles.

      Added the 2 of Cups to the draw for you, for the “love” equivalent. The Morgan never disappoints; it has a way of surprising you when you least expect it. And I might have to trademark “borthday” ;)

      Like

  13. erishilton says:

    Happy happy blog day!!!

    Woooohoooo!

    I am late to the game, but better late than never, so… I pulled the 9 of Pents from Tarot Nutsy Tara. I’m thinking that everything you’ve been working on in the healing, spiritual, and tarot realms is going really come together for you over the next year, and through this blog is where you’ll really shine or at least see the fruits of your labors in a tangible way. It’s not just an internal thing… I think people will notice, if they haven’t already. You know this stuff in a real way. It’s wisdom gleaned from experience, not just bullshit. And what’s more, you understand it as only the 9 of Pents can.

    This blog will no doubt showcase the journey. You’ve earned your stripes. Now you get to pimp them… if you want to. Of course, I think you totally should. :)

    Like

    • submerina says:

      The Tara 9 of Pents is my favourite version of this card evah WOO-HOO! Me and mah bird… er, blog. i don’t even know what to say ::blush:: You’re my metamysticphuckery idol and it is getting strange all up in here, I’ll tell you that much. Hope to continue the journey with you.

      And I’m pretty sure “glittering” is a long lost form of mummifcation. Can you imagine that culture? Fah-bu-lous ;D

      Like

  14. erishilton says:

    And also… Those cards are fantastic! Hell yes! Give me glitter or give me death! Well… maybe not real death. Maybe closer to mostly dead all over. I like glitter that much! Woohoo! ;)

    Like

  15. ChatChat Miao says:

    Someone deserving will receive this beautiful gift. You are deserving of all the beauty you experience (past, present, future) from taking that first step towards your Truth. I love you, my friend, and I love tarot for having introduced us.

    Like

  16. submerina says:

    Giveaway is now closed. Thank you all for your wonderful predictions, compliments and BIG laughs :D

    Weener will be announced Wednesday!

    Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

