The Stories We Tell Ourselves

Kore by archanimus (click to enlarge)

I’ve been struggling with several readings for over a week now. Nothing I do can make sense of them; the meanings keep dancing around the edge of my understanding. Can’t convince the 5 of Pents to stop coming up as a reflection of my belief system – tres upsetting, but there’s obviously something there to be investigated and dealt with.

I treated myself to “The Mythic Path” yesterday and am thinking of ways to incorporate readings into the exercises therein. My personal “stories” are an area that needs work, but I haven’t found the right words to begin. I forget how important words are to me; “mythology” is the right word. It’s like waves on a beach, neither masculine nor feminine; it caresses and whispers and entices.

Maybe reworking my mythologies will ease the other transformations I’m slogging through. This shit is hard. So much dogma to erase and rewind. So much internal landscaping to be done, non-indigenous flora to be weed-whacked. This statement by Cat Chapin-Bishop at Quaker Pagan Reflections is my mantra-of-the-moment:

“I think I’m going to go ahead and let myself not make too much sense for a while. I’m going to go ahead and act like this stuff made sense, and see if it works for me.”

At least the creativity is going really, really well. Dementedly well. Mad scientist well. IF I COULD ONLY FIND A CORNER ROUNDER!!!

 

9 thoughts on “The Stories We Tell Ourselves

    • submerina says:

      HA HA HA HA HAAAA!! You’re soooo right; I can picture it vividly. Now, should it be a 20 minute short, or a 175 minute epic? Oh man, you’ve given me so much brain – and giggle – fodder :D

      Like

    • submerina says:

      That’s exactly what I’m looking for. Michaels – pretty much the beginning and end of that kind of crafty crap – had ONE only, by Fiskars. Usually a good brand but it’s *terrible*. Only cuts half a corner and all skew at that and the other side doesn’t even cut at all! $17 for that. $17 I’ll be getting back!

      I mostly recognize my dreams for the brain farts they are, but some stand out in a way that I know mean something deeper.

      Like

  1. Helen says:

    Just flying past and haven’t read all of this – will come back later but what you said here jumped out at me ” Can’t convince the 5 of Pents to stop coming up as a reflection of my belief system – tres upsetting, but there’s obviously something there to be investigated and dealt with.”

    I wonder if the 5 pents is saying that you believe that you have to struggling on by yourself, that only you can do certain things and that you forget others may be able to help you. Perhaps it is saying that you do this and may be in danger of losing site of what is really important.

    Now as I haven’t read the rest of your post yet I may be talking a load of old rubbish – but as I said this jumped out at me.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      *DING DING DING* Winner! Honestly, that is a BIG “right on” there. Thank you! I had figured out that maybe it wasn’t directly referring to me, but to my desire to make the 5 of P situations in the world better, but what you’ve said is very, very accurate so I’m glad you flew by!

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

