Joie de Vivre Tarot

XIII Death – Joie de Vivre Tarot. Paulina Cassidy, 2010 WIP.

Paulina Cassidy, the artist who illustrated the Paulina Tarot, has been working on her second deck – the Joie de Vivre Tarot – for a while now and her site has been updated with new images of the cards already completed. I think the only word that can accurately describe what I’ve seen so far is, “SQUEEEEEE!” I mean, isn’t that the most darkly adorable, creepy cute Death you’ve ever seen?

The other cards are equally as whimsical and oddball. The first thing I thought of when viewing them is Delirium of Neil Gaiman’s “The Endless“. There will also be comparisons to Burton’s work, but this is sweeter and somehow stranger, though I don’t know what exactly gives me that feeling. Some will say it’s *too* sweet, I’m sure, but there is a definite darkness lurking beneath the surface. Something to do with wind-up toys and the mutant dolls from “Toy Story”, with a soupçon of Mark Ryden.

This one is on my watch list, for sure. The finished cards are currently available as art prints through the website and I’m doing the pee-pee dance until the deck is done. Are we there yet??

 

6 thoughts on “Joie de Vivre Tarot

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I discovered Paulina’s art many years ago, by accident somehow, and was so excited when she started working on the Paulina Tarot. And then the strangest thing: when it was done and available, I found I had no desire to get it. I enjoy her art, but as Tarot it just doesn’t appeal to me. But who knows, in a year I could find I’ve changed my mind again :)

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I feel the same way. I have no desire for the Paulina Tarot, even though I like the art. There’s just *too* much going on, even for me! I like that this one is a little more subdued as far as details go.

      Like

    • submerina says:

      I have a strong suspicion that this is one of those decks that will have strong opinions and not be afraid to share them!

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

