Quintessential Wishes

Earlier this week, Idun posted a “wish” spread for the new moon. I thought the timing was perfect and also the perfect spread to break in the Shadowscapes Tarot. The topics of Love, Work & Health didn’t really appeal to me, so I went with Home, Work & Self. It was a clear, defined reading (and absolutely visually stunning), but what jumped out at me most were the Quint card results.

 

For each topic/row, you calculate the Quint for the message of what the Universe wishes from you. My results (Home, Work, Self) were:

Shadowscapes Tarot by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law and Barbara Moore; Llewellyn, 2010

9 Hermit – 3 Empress – 22 Fool (22 comes back to 0, otherwise the Fool would never appear)

Inner peace/retreat – Love – Dare/Let go

 

Then I decided it might be interesting to add the Quint to determine an overall wish from the Universe and got:

12 Hanged Man – Surrender (going with the Fool as 0)

“Things are getting interesting,” I think. “I wonder what the Quints are for each question across all 3 topics?”

 

Shadowscapes Tarot by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law and Barbara Moore; Llewellyn, 2010

[1] What I’m wishing for: 7 Chariot – Control (though honestly, it’s more direction that I’m looking for. I don’t know which way to steer.)

[2] What I should be wishing for: 15 Devil – No control/passion (Interesting phrase from the LWB relating to the above: “…choosing to stay in the dark” ie. not knowing!)
[3] The challenge: 8 Strength – Balancing desires vs. Control issues; flexibility
[4] An action I can take: 1 Magician – Create my own reality
[5] Outside influences: 21 World – I think this is a literal “the world”, although another name for the World is the Universe

 

And the Quint of those to show my overall wishing status is:

7 The ChariotC.O.N.T.R.O.L.

 

Shadowscapes Tarot by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law and Barbara Moore; Llewellyn, 2010

A-ha! Look at that: Hanged Man vs. Chariot, Surrender vs. Control; two very opposite ways of going about things! I’m struggling with opposing desires, thoughts etc. etc. and the Universe says, “Just chill, relax, let go. Trust us, we’ll take care of things. Remember the Fool?” It’s very difficult to effect change when you’re white-knuckling the reigns like your life depends on it!

Oh! Oh! Oh! And I had a jumper at the exact moment I asked the final question while shuffling: 2 of Swords :O Seriously, does it get any clearer than that??

 

But what is the ultimate outcome if these 2 forces can be brought into balance?

19 The Sun

Huzzah! See?

Now you might be wondering – I certainly was – about the absence of my friend, the Wheel of Fortune. Could it be that the Wheel has decided to cut me a break? Is it on some sort of metaphysical vacation and will return to haunt me at a later date? Oh no, it’s there. Just count the number of Majors (only include the Chariot once) in this Quint summary…

Why you little…


Full draw for posterity’s sake:

Home – Work – Self

[1] What I’m wishing for: 8 of Cups – The Star – Page of Pents
[2] What I should be wishing for: 10 of Swords – 4 of Swords – Ace of Pents
[3] The challenge: 4 of Cups – 9 of Cups – Death (note Death as a Self challenge, coming back to the overall issue of Surrender)
[4] An action I can take: Page of Wands – Queen of Cups – Ace of Wands
[5] Outside influences: Temperance – Knight of Pents – 7 of Wands

10 thoughts on “Quintessential Wishes

  1. sarah says:

    Nice to see I’m not the only oracle junkie out there! :)

    Chariot is all about meditation for me. Seems the only way to get “control” in worldly matters is to let everything go and let the higher mind take over. It’s a paradox.
    Anyway thought you might like to see the Chariot (first version). Not sure about posting it to the blog as I might repaint it soon:

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I LOVE that Chariot! It feels so *me*. The way you’ve drawn the woman looks like the way I used to envision one of my personas; the quiet, artistic one (named Papillon de Nuit). I love that she is holding a Y-Y labyrinthine spiral *and* it’s my favourite Tai Chi pose too! The seahorses and the little crab are lovely :) If you’re thinking about repainting, the pink seems a bit much compared to the rest of the scene. Thank you SO much for sharing this!

      Like

      • sarah says:

        I’m glad you like it! :)
        You are right about that pink. My colour schemes are getting more subtle, which is one reason I am repainting. I also thought maybe I should make the seahorses different colours or maybe mirror image their colour scheme somehow so it doesn’t feel too lopsided.

        Like

  2. Digital Dame says:

    I’m not really a ‘wish’ person, and I’m not quite sure I understand the concept here.

    As for your ever-present WoF, could it be saying “you’re going in circles, spinning your wheels”? Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar. :)

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Aaah, hadn’t thought of the “spinning wheels” analogy. Thanks! I’ll have a closer look at things from that angle. As for the concept, it’s just me getting way to caught up in the numbers. Those sexy, sexy numbers are simply irresistible!

      Like

    • submerina says:

      “Steering by Starlight” sounds so much more magical than “fighting for control” :) The Chariot has always struck me as being a very transitional card – somewhat caught between 2 phases, almost like when you leave home for the first time and don’t quite know what to do with yourself. It’s sort of a metaphor for my life! Hmm, maybe that’s the issue…

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

