World Tarot Day Celebrations! Bonus Track

I got the bright idea a while ago to make a series of tarot bags to use up some of my stash, both inspirational and fabric. It was during my Queen of Wands phase, where I simultaneously developed another line of something based on the tarot (which I hope to bring to light eventually) and fleshed out the concepts for 5 decks. I wanted to complete the full set of 22 before I started sending them off to new homes, but the time is now!

A theme I return to again and again is Women/Goddesses. In 2001 I designed a series of 50+ bags/purses (my resources were far, far greater at the time) inspired by women in history, mythology and even women’s names, cut them all out, gathered the relevant ribbons and fringes and flowers and other adornments and started sewing. And then I up and moved to Canada. But the ideas remain and they will be realised in one form or another (or all of the above).

These ladies are Titania and Magdalena:

Titania was the first bag I created in this series. She is made from limited edition butterflies-and-fairies print fabric, largely coloured in lovely hibiscus pink, cornflower blue and lavendar. Titania herself holds court on one side of the bag. There are subtle metallic gold highlights that make the fabric all the more magical. The colours reminded me of dusk and the twilight hour, when fairies come out to play and lure unsuspecting humans into the otherworld. I chose an ombré ribbon that captured the colour of the sky at this time for the collar of the bag and a cornflower cotton for the lining. The drawstrings are fine lilac ribbon, held in place by purple flowers and faceted yellow beads.

Magdalena is a theme within a theme within a theme: holy women, religious symbols, tattoos. The base of this bag is a royal blue cotton, a colour fit for a High Priestess. The collar is made from blue flame fabric. I don’t know why it had to be flames, but I tried making it red and she wasn’t having any of it! Okay, flames it is. Her distinguishing feature is a sacred heart applique with hand-embroidered blue roses. The design has been outlined several times in metallic gold and gold-toned thread and a sparkle tulle “halo” in pale gold crowns it off. The lining hides a secret: tattoos! I got really *smart* with the drawstring, or at least I thought I did. It works, that’s all that matters.

And to celebrate WTD, letting my dim light shine and sharing it with all and sundry, I’m giving these bags away to unsuspecting vict… er, lucky winners! They are large enough to accommodate most decks – even giganto Via – and have square bottoms (like myself) for a more natural fit (ummm…)

If you would like to enter to receive one of these bags, please leave a comment before midnight (MST) on Thursday, May 27. Be sure to also include which one you prefer! Winners will be drawn from their respective favourites and announced on Friday, May 28.

Giveaway is now closed

16 thoughts on “World Tarot Day Celebrations! Bonus Track

  1. Kiki says:

    Wow, those are beautiful, submerina! Great craftmanship. Er… craftwomanship? :) I love the extra touches, like the flowers on the drawstring, and the surprise tattoo lining of the blue one. Hard to pick which one I’d prefer, if I won. Really. Be thrilled to have either. Since I *have* to choose, I’ll say Titania.

    Thanks for the generous giveaway! Good luck to everyone!

    Hope you had a joyous World Tarot Day!

    ♥ Kiki

    Like

    • submerina says:

      If we settle on craft*person*ship, that should keep everyone happy, although I’m not known for my political correctness ;) Thank you! It is always fun and gratifying to let the imagination free for a romp. Now that it’s finally been released, I think the Shadowscapes would be quite comfy in Titania.

      Like

  2. Batsu-chan says:

    Let the ideas and creations flow, woman, flooooooow! Unleash yourself to the world because we need to live in beauty and talents such as yours makes this an easy living.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I need you to come live on my shoulder and just whisper this stuff in my ear all day long, m’kay?

      Like

    • submerina says:

      Yes! Which makes me wonder why decks don’t have black borders more often. The colours would pop and glow and the borders would be less obtrusive, I think. Plus, the text would have to be printed in something pretty like gold or silver to stand out, and that’s never a bad thing :)

      Like

  3. Celeste says:

    These are lovely. Really dig your tarot bags/clothes.

    I really like sacred heart imagery, so I think I would pick that one if chosen. Plus the High Priestess keeps showing up for me again and again lately and that was mentioned in the ‘holy woman’ info.

    Nice idea!

    XO,
    Celeste

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Hi Celeste! I can definitely see this bag being a good match for your personality and several of the decks you’ve showcased on your blog. I’ll trade you your HP for the WoF! :)

      Like

  4. Bummble says:

    Hello!

    I’ve discovered your blog a few days ago, and I just LOVE your attitude to tarot, the universe and everything!

    I meant to comment earlier, just to say ‘hi’ sort of, but now this is the final push; those bags are delicious!
    My favorite is the blue Magdalene one; it reminds me a lot of Mexican imagery. Gorgeous.

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Welcome! I have a massive love affair with Mexican folk art – COLOUR! -, especially Dia de los Muertos so there is definitely some influence there :)

      Like

  5. erishilton says:

    Those are awesome… Unlike plain bags, it’s the little extra details that make yours so awesome.

    Magdalena pretty much rocks though… She looks a bit wandy and rebellious!

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I LIVE for the details; the bags are just an excuse to embellish and go crazy with the cheese whiz! Magda is for sure Wands, with a good wallop of Pents in all the right places ;)

      Like

Comments are closed.