Objet du Désir

Shiva Lingam Pendulum

Pendulums have never been my “thing”. They’re pretty and sparkly and I’d happily wear one as a necklace, but I have no desire or urging to work with one. Until my Reiki II attunement today.

As part of demonstrating other modalities that can be used in conjunction with Reiki, our teacher had brought along a selection of her pendulums. Shiny, shiny, sparkly, meh, pretty, OOH OOH OOH WANT! WAAANT!!! What I wanted was a lovely little grey ovoid which appeared to have been dipped in rust-coloured paint. AJ said this was a “Shiva pendulum” (also known as Banalinga) and I couldn’t wait to hold it. When I did get a chance, it was soooo lovely. So, so lovely. Indescribably smooth and I just knew it had come from water, rather than been dug out of the earth. It took all my self-control not to beg to take it home with me.

 The Shiva-lingam is one of the most sacred icons of the ancient as well as the modern world. These Shiva-lingams Composed of crypto crystalline Quartz, come only from the Narmada River Valley, high in the mountains of Mandhata, one of the seven sacred holy places of pilgrimage, in the central western part of India. The colours are caused by iron deposits said to have been implanted in the river bed by a meteorite millions of years ago.

The Lingam is symbolic of the divine creative manifestation. The Lingam shape is representative of the power of Shiva, the Lord of creation, the masculine creative energy and are believed to be the ultimate fertility stone, they carry the highest vibration of all stones on Earth. The markings called yoni are the female energies, the seed which is fertilised to manifest the creative power in the dance of the cosmos, and the stone is male.

It represents the union of the male/female energy. Together, the female energy arouses the masculine urge to create. The Shiva Lingam unifies the duality of male and female into a union of harmonious balance.

How synchronicitous that Eris shared this link about The Churning of the Ocean too! I’m trying to find my own Shiva lingam now – pendulum or not – even though I can’t help giggling to myself about the deeper psychological implications of how very, very attracted I am to Lingamness… Lingamnality… ??

And for some reason I don’t understand, I have the strongest conviction that this should be paired with walnut flower essence.

5 thoughts on “Objet du Désir

  1. Helen says:

    That’s lovely! I can almost feel its smoothness. I’ve used a brass pendulum to find things, it works quiet well, but I also have a crystal one, which I just hang in the window to let the light catch it, so sparkly :O)

    Like

    • submerina says:

      I think a Merkaba pendulum would do especially well hanging in the sunlight. Now you’ve got me wondering about a _copper_ pendulum… I lurve copper. Oh my! Look at this O_O It’s so steampunk! Because I need another thing to collect, you know… ;)

      Like

  2. tarotfriend says:

    I am not a fan of pendulums either but I admit that they can be useful sometimes. Congrats on your attunement… I am sure this will be great for your development. Great blog, by the way :)

    Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

