Sun and Moon Tarot

Sun and Moon Tarot Majors by Vanessa Decort

The Sun and Moon Tarot (scroll down and click through to see all the cards) is apparently due to be published by US Games sometime this year. How excited am I? Can you hear the squealing?? I love:

  • The deceptively simple little modern figures
  • The fact that the people are faceless
  • The Wands being a “night time” suit
  • The great use of space, especially in the top part of the images
  • The black borders
  • The colour scheme
  • The simple font used for card titles
  • etc.

And, being a painted deck, I should be able to “feel” the cards quite nicely too. I hate to say it, but it’s just… so… gosh darn adorable :D I really don’t need to add another deck to my wishlist (at least it’s a while before the Eklektikos will be available!) but this deck is an absolute must have. Waiting, waiting, waiting…

(The Queen of Wands has me all tied up doing creative stuff and let me tell you, when the Q/W wants you to do something, you do it, or she will spend all night yammering in your ear and keep you awake until you succumb to her helpful “suggestions”. “No” is not a word in her dictionary, but she wields the whip gently at least.)

17 thoughts on “Sun and Moon Tarot

  1. erishilton says:

    I may have to add that to my ever expanding/exploding collection… I could love this one, I think.

    The Q of Wands and The Empress were my muses through school… Demanding? Yes. Delightful? Always. Delirious? Constantly. They’re like Batman and Robin, except more creative and fabulous, and slightly less gay. It’s much better than having the Q of Pents buzzing in your ear… “You’re out of cat food. Iams was on sale at Safeway. Don’t forget your coupons! Isn’t saving money and being frugal grand?”. BLEH… ;P

    Like

    • submerina says:

      This deck screams “Eris” :) Its got a bit of a World Spirit vibe to me, with less “hippy” and more “rasta”. I hope it comes in a tin too. I think it needs one.

      Yes, they’re kind and helpful ladies. They’re doing it for your own good, now get out of bed and make something fun! The Q/S is a little less… accommodating. She has a whip and she knows how to use it and she likes it when you cry. And the Q/C? She’s outside catching fairies. Can’t say I’m familiar with the Q/P. At _all_ ;)

      Like

    • submerina says:

      If there’s information out there looking to be found, I will find it! :)

      Most of my decks are LS, but with this one and the Morgan re-release and tarot gifts, US Games is becoming a contender! I wonder what the planned date is?

      Like

      • Debra She Who Seeks says:

        The Shadowscapes one is nice (thanks for directing me to it) but I still like the Sun and Moon one better. There’s something about its simplicity, and also I like that a female figure is incorporated into the phoenix.

        Like

        • submerina says:

          The simplicity is definitely part of the appeal, as well as the melding of woman and phoenix. The Shadowscapes is going to be an art deck for me, I think, whereas the Sun and Moon is a reader, no doubt about it!

          Like

    • submerina says:

      Font whores of the world, unite! But what font to use for our banner… ? :D
      The one used for the Sun and Moon is on the tip of my tongue; I _know_ I know it… my gut is saying “Tahoma”.

      Yes! The essential concepts are all there, even though the style isn’t all over the top with every square millimeter of space filled. I can really appreciate that ability, being completely lacking in it myself. And I’ll say it again: I LIKE the black borders!

      Like

      • Ness Decort says:

        Today I’m very happy and very sad to announce you that my deck will be available next April,
        and can be pre-ordered on this site: http://www.tarotgarden.com/database/dbsearchengine.php?view_title=sun+and+moon

        Happy: because the beauty of tarot will finally be spread with my illustrations.

        Sad: because I just find out on this same site, that my publisher totally changed the layout and the colour of the card borders and totally changed my box design.

        But I guess this double feeling is part of this yin yang like deck with a name like
        ‘Sun and Moon Tarot’!

        Like

        • submerina says:

          Thank you for this update! Much appreciated :)

          I absolutely agree with you on the sad part; those cards _need_ black borders! I will take a Sharpie to mine and colour them in if I have to! But, i know from the forums that the majority of people will prefer the white borders, so I guess that’s why the publisher made that choice. It’s a bit of a kick in the face to you, the artist, though :( I admire your seeing the “yin-yang” of it – we can only release our creations into the wild and then what the world makes of them is out of our control.

          I wish you much success and inspiration!

          Like

    • submerina says:

      The facelessness is turning a couple of people off, but I think with the figures being so small, it isn’t such a big issue (on a larger scale it would be very weird…) and it allows the reader to project their own expressions from draw to draw. If you click the link to the artist’s deviantArt account, you can see the cards in a slightly larger format.

      Like

  2. Becky says:

    I’ve been a tarot reader for a few years now but find it very hard to find a deck with artwork that appeals to me. I’ve searched through pages and pages of images on the Internet, but when i spotted this one yesterday I ordered it instantly. Absolutely lovely artwork. Just can’t wait for my set to arrive and to start reading these beautiful cards. Bx

    Like

    • submerina says:

      That’s so fantastic! I hope it turns out to be a great deck for you. Don’t have a copy yet, but the little people are just irresistible. I’m just avoiding looking ’til it’s my turn :D

      Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

