I Can Haz Tarot Prezentz?

Tara Box

The Tara Box – Mini shrine, statue and book

I can haz!

My long-time blog friend and unofficial tarot mentor, Eris Hilton, while possessed by the spirit of random SQUEE! and Golden Apple Pie, put together a whole box full of tarot and metaphuckery just for me! I was expecting one deck, but it was oh so much more and a ton of bright tissue paper and cute skeleton post-its.

The biggest surprise was The Tara Box: Rituals for Protection and Healing. It’s been on my wishlist for years, but I could never justify ordering it and then it went OOP. But Eris found one, without even knowing of my want! This is a lovely, portable mini shrine and the companion book is unexpectedly good, filled with excellent meditations on the 8 fears and the 21 aspects of Tara.

I am well on my way to creating a sacred space again. A new space in my new world.

Vanessa and Thoth Tarots

Vanessa Tarot and Thoth Tarot

Thoth and Vanessa, sitting in a tree… ;)

Unlikely travel companions, but they were securely packaged and separated and made the trip without incident, as far as I can tell.

The Vanessa Tarot is super girly and fabulous and trust Miss Eris to hook a sister up, especially when said sister is far too stingy to treat herself to such frivolity. It comes in a TIN! and is perfectly palm-sized for lady hands. This is the deck you pack in your purse when meeting muggles for coffee – the “scary” cards have been softened (Death is a punk; the Devil is having a tryst avec light bondage) and all the card situations are modern and easily identifiable. And I must just say, I am completely enamoured with The Hierophant because she looks like me on my best days! I think I’ve worn that exact outfit… The Vanessa might look silly on the surface, but on closer inspection, it’s a really smart RWS adaptation. Above all, this little deck has SASS. And FRASS!

The piece de resistance and very raison d’etre for this whole lovely package of tarot lovin’ was Eris’ gifting of her spare Grandaddy Thoth. When she suggested it, I was all “Srsly??” and she was like “Srsly!” and I was like “No wai!” and she was all “Ya wai!” and thus did Thoth come to live with me (I’m sure Uncle Al is spinning in his tomb just from my typing that. Spin, spin sugar!) I’ve never been much for magick – too many words, too many rules – but I’m going to do the work necessary to properly understand the deck and how it’s “supposed” to be used. I think it’s a lifetime project, something to be chipped away at and Lord knows I loves me some project! But I also like the pretty pictures and will most likely break my brain trying to use it intuitively. So we learn.

Spreadcloth and book

Spreadcloth, book and other goodies

MOAR stuffs! The beautiful peacock fabric is a spreadcloth, ingeniously designed to include a pocket for storing a deck (Thoth was snuggled therein). I usually just lay the cards on my desk, but I guess now they’re going to get all uppity and fancy and demand better treatment. (Pretty soon they’ll be unionised.) Resting on the cloth are a clear quartz seer stone and an unakite wand. I remember picking up unakite at the gemstone “Scratch Patch” we’d go to when I was a kid, drawn to the combination of pistachio green and salmon pink. The colours match the Tara Box perfectly!

Power Tarot is a fantastic quick reference book, filled with down-to-earth explanations of the cards for every situation – eg. health, finance, spirituality – and 100+ spreads. Unlike some amazon reviewers, I’m glad the spreads are kept simple, rather than given in-depth explanations. I like to think for myself, thanks. Of course, there has to be some Hello Kitty in there somewhere and, in the absence of HK tarot (for now), playing cards are a good runner-up. And those two little figurines are Anubis and Hathor, to guide me on my journey through the dark. They’ll be joining the Taras and Lady Gory-McNasty, zombie glamour girl, on the Desk of Much Clutter (and Occasional Creation)!

And that’s not even all… Miss Eris kinda outdid herself. Now it’s quid pro quo time, but my Muse tends to turn molehills into galaxies. Luckily, the Queen of Wands has come to my rescue and – despite the overactive brain-induced sleepless nights that aren’t so much fun – created a wonderful diversionary outlet for all that excess creativity. Watch this space…

8 thoughts on “I Can Haz Tarot Prezentz?

  1. erishilton says:

    Soooooooo glad Big Daddy Thoth & Friends found their way to your doorstep without a hitch. I’d imagine that Big Daddy T and Vanessa bickered on the journey, which is to be expected. We both know that he was probably trying to sneak a peak of cleavage when she wasn’t looking. You’ve gotta keep your eye on the Thoth Deck… it’s got a wicked pervy streak!

    Enjoy the sacred “myspace”, keed. You’ve earned it. Glad to be of service! ^_^

    Srsly. Yah Wai!

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Well, the Vanessa HP _is_ showing a lotta leg, so I think she did her own bit to attract Big T’s attention. They’re the odd couple and I’m awfully tempted to use them together MUAHAHAHAHAAAA!! Also, I like to stick forks into outlets and poke bears.

      You be careful. I will set up a myspace account and hold you responsible.

      Like

  2. Debra She Who Seeks says:

    Wow! What a haul! And what a generous friend! I’ve never heard of the Vanessa Tarot before, but it looks like a fun, kicky little deck. When I first started reading tarot, I did not think much of the Thoth deck and believed its interpretation of some cards did not make a lot of sense. But over the years, I have come to appreciate it more and now realize that it can make a great deal of sense, indeed. My favourite book that uses the Thoth deck in its teachings is an old one (1987) by Angeles Arrien called The Tarot Handbook: Practical Applications of Ancient Visual Symbols. It’s entirely possible that there is a second edition by now (possibly even a third?)

    Like

    • submerina says:

      Thanks for the book tip, Debra! It’s available on Amazon :) I’m glad I got over my Thoth discomfort, because I think I’m going to have far too much fun with all the symbols and “hidden” meanings etc.

      It seems to me that the Vanessa is the kind of deck you reach for when you’re having a “blah” day and need a pick-me-up. I think she’ll be quite the shopping & coffee enablerista!

      Like

  3. kafkasghost says:

    Awww, your tarot sugar mama is awesome! :D

    Will continue to live vicariously through your Vanessa and Thoth experiences! Weeee, I love me some Lynyrd Narciso artwork (I have his Filipino Majors only deck).

    Bonne fin de semaine!

    Like

Marks will be awarded for participation

